Day 21 – Being Stranded Ain’t So Bad..

Today’s Vegan MoFo theme: “What three endless food supplies would you take if you were going to be stranded on an island? (Imagine your nutritional needs have been met, these are a bonus!)”

For this post, I’m really taking the “stranded on an island” thing to heart. This means no oven, no dishes, no stove, microwave, blender, etc… If I had to be stranded somewhere with no method to cook and all of my nutritional needs were met, I would eat fruit for the rest of my life! Fruit is something I never tire of. I try to eat at least one fully raw meal each day, and recently those meals have consisted entirely of fruit. The longest I consistently ate only raw was for two weeks, and I have never in my life felt so clean and refreshed each morning. I didn’t need coffee, I was happier, and my body completely changed. It was like a cleanse without the deprivation, and the thing I ate more than anything was fruit. Two social media women (that many of you are probably familiar with) that I really enjoy reading and learning from are Kristina Carrillo-Bucaram (FullyRaw Kristina, who also does posts in Español!) and Freelee the Banana Girl. I especially liked watching Freelee’s recent trip to Thailand and her fruit adventures there. She is a brave voice for animals that I really respect.

I like to imagine, for this scenario, that I end up shipwrecked on an island where there is bountiful amounts of my three favorite fruits; nectarines, lychee, and bananas. Not only are they my favorite, but I also feel they each have such a different consistency that I wouldn’t get bored for a long while. I once at a nectarine that was so juicy, and I was so hungry when I ate it, that I nearly cried. It was the best piece of fruit I have ever had in my life, and I would want that with me on this imaginary island. Hopefully I will have a basketball or something around to draw a funny face on and make friends with, or meet some turtles and dolphins to hang out with too. A girl’s gotta stay busy, right?

IMG_6013I think this was a tough prompt to think about, especially since you can be so creative with how ‘stranded’ you really are. How many of you took this to heart like I did? What are your favorite fruits? And what magical creatures did you make as friends on your island? Until tomorrow… Cheers!

– E&E

Leave a Reply

